29
Sep
08

Apocalyptica: THE greatest thing ever seen.lol

SO Friday on my show I had the honor, and the sheer spectacle of APOCALYPTICA live in the studio during my show as my sort of Letterman/Conan like house band. If you don’t know their story these guys are classically trained (as in they learned to play classical music, studied at a prestigious conservatory in Finland) yet somehow could never get the metal out of their veins. They play cello,….yes, CELLO> They started out doing only Metallica covers, did I mention it’s all on cello?. They then expanded to Sepultura, faith no more, etc, and then began to do their own originals. Most of those who know them know them for their Metallica covers which have included everything from “Enter sandman”, to “Nothing else matters”, “One” and so on. SO they played in my studio for most of the day Friday and I could not believe the sounds that these guys were getting out of a bunch of cellos. Then I went to see them that night at Nokia, and if you replaced the cellos with guitars, you would be watching a textbook metal band. Watch this as they rip through “seek and Destroy”. The night i saw them they managed to recreate the guitar solo almost verbatim, ON CELLO!!!. There are many versions of the song floating around, I picked this one from Mexico City because the audio seemed the best. They bang their heads like any other metal band, this is seriously one of the strangest, weirdest, yet most amazing things I have ever seen.

 

 That is all, End Transmission!

 

2 Responses to “Apocalyptica: THE greatest thing ever seen.lol”


  1. 1 KELLY
    October 1, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Nick, you are right.. that is the most amazing rendition of Seek & Destroy i have evr heard! these guys are awesome. i m googling them right now to learn more!

  2. October 4, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    It is amazing I have seen them 3 times this year!! I have a few shots of the Ontario Canada and D.C. shows on my blog and a link to my flickr account if you want to have a look. Their version of seek and destroy is amazing. Also their version of nothing else matters if you haven’t checked it out. Marj


Comments are currently closed.

