18
Aug
08

Album Covers…….

Have a read of this article proclaiming the death of the album cover.

http://www.gigwise.com/article?id=45429&image=3

Is this true?  I know the future of music is digital, but isn’t the way the music is presented still important?  Shouldn’t there be artwork that we can at least download once we’re in a disc-less era?  Or am I just being old fashioned?

I am still feeling sad about the fact that in order to ship my CD collection of around 3,000 albums from England I threw away the plastic cases to save on space in my NY appartment.  But I still kept the bookets cos I wanted the artwork and the infomation contained on the paper.

I am also someone who was hoping for a revival of the picture disc.  I guess that’s out of the question.

1 Response to “Album Covers…….”


  1. August 18, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Sorry babe, you’re old fashioned. I couldn’t give a rats ass about the album artwork, I think the only artwork I ever got excited about was the robot image in GNRs appetite for destruction.

    If I want to see art, there are a quadbillion sites online or books I could get. Plus there’s nothing that hasn’t been done or redone or whatever. It’s about the music, I just want the sound waves. Downloading all the other crap just fills my harddrive with stuff I don’t want.

    When I moved to the US from New Zealand I had a crate of CDs, couldn’t be shagged to bring them so put them all on the ipod and bought that. Easy. Done. Admittedly the album covers and CDs are still back in NZ in storage… rotting… getting eaten by mice…

    I only care about the sound, but if you’re into the whole band experience then I feel for ya. Petition them, I’ll sign it because it would make you happy. 🙂

    And you know who that’s gonna hurt the most, not having album artwork? Tattoo artists. People just won’t be able to get the Aerosmith wings or the angel kid on the Van Halen album inked into them, no more Eddies, or GNRs. End of an era.


Comments are currently closed.

