19
Mar
08

Irish and Potatoes

I’ve heard it before, that the Irish eat a lot of potatoes, and that is no joke. I’ve never seen so many potatoes in all my life. Every meal; breakfast, lunch and dinner. Oh, and not to mention all the potato snacks that are available. I went to a ‘food court’ type area for lunch in Dublin. I ordered Udon Noodles. These are typically Japanese noodles, in a broth with some vegetables. This version had potatoes. Noodles and potatoes? HOLY STARCH. My producer ordered a sandwich, and I kid you not, inside was…potatoes. Dinner at any given restaurant had potatoes in the main course as well as on the side. The tipping point? “I’ll have a Jameson and gingerale please”. The waiter brings the cocktail to the table. The garnish? A wedge of lime? No. A wedge of potato. Jameson and ginger with a squeeze of potato. MMMMMMmmmmm

2 Responses to “Irish and Potatoes”


  1. 1 -db-
    April 14, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Whats wrong with a potato martini? I loved Ireland. Great food (I am a meat and potato man), great beer (nothing like a jar of the finest), beautiful countryside, and the nicest people on earth. I saw the Jameson distillery as well. Very cool. Even got to be an offical taster, I have the certificate to prove it. I cant wait to go back.

  2. 2 Patrick Roche
    May 16, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    You did not get a wedge of potato with a shot of Jameson or anywhere near one. No self respecting Dub would commit a sin like that and if he did he would be beaten senseless with with a box of Pringles.


Comments are currently closed.

