17
Nov
08

Metal guys? = DUMB?: in 1988 it did!

So I got home from work the other day and one of my favorite movies of all time was on IFC; “The decline of western civilization 2, the metal years”. I tried to describe it to a friend of mine  and I simply could not do it justice. I don’t know what’s funnier the rock stars that they talk to (Ozzy, Lemmy, Poison, Paul Stanley being interviewed on a bed with four groupies draped over him, Alice Cooper,…),  or the struggling musicians all convinced that they were going to be HUGE rock stars. The film was made in 1988 when metal was all about aqua net and spandex, so you see all of these guys who when asked “well what will you do if you don’t make it”?….all of whom reply: “Oh Ill make it, there’s no way I wont, Im GOING to be a rock star”,…of course history has proven almost all of them wrong, not even the mighty “ODIN. ODIN, ODIN” turned out to be much more than an LA club band. Anyway, if you’ve not seen this film it is a MUST see, I mean as  entertaining as it gets.

 

Here is a quintessential dumb metal guy in question: A drunken Chris Holmes of W.A.S.P ( I mean, WASP,… could a band be any worse?. Blackie Lawless with that stupid buzz saw blade cod piece?…remember that?). Let’s join Chris by the pool for an insightful discussion of what makes him tick:

 

 

Yikes: That is all, End Transmission!